Must Do: Creative Spillage Workshop

Posted on

UPDATE: You can now find me at www.healthynbalanced.com.

 

Today I was able to take part in a Creative Spillage Workshop. Maybe you are wondering what in the world is a Creative Spillage Workshop?

It is truly an experience like I have never had before. I really wasn’t sure what to expect since I have no experience in painting or paint classes and I don’t consider myself to be artistic in that sense. However when I walked into Laura’s Creative Spillage studio all fears and anxieties quickly fell to floor as I entered what I felt like was a “safe” place. You know what I’m talking about…one of those places where you feel like you could kick off your shoes, pull your hair up into a funky ponytail and kick back with your closest girlfriends without fear of rejection or judgement.

This class was about more than just painting. It really made you look at your fears, anxieties, and what Laura calls the Creative Monster that somewhere between childhood and adulthood has stopped you from being creative and expressing yourself.

I was able to confront my Creative Monster of “There’s always someone who is better than you.” or what I call my “Comparison Monster”. There have been so many times in my life that I have not used the talents that God has given me because I knew that there was someone who could do it better. There have been a lot of times that I never even tried to better my talents, whether it was through taking piano lessons or participating in a drama competition or trying to hone a new talent (like painting), because I knew I would never be as good as so-and-so.

So before we ever put our paintbrushes to the canvases we talked about those monsters so that they would not be holding us back from being creative when we were painting.

Then she let us run loose! We had full access to canvases, paints, papers, and other supplies. At the end of the class, everyone walked away with a painting in one hand and victory over that creative monster in the other. For me, I also found a new love for painting.  It’s so fun and relaxing…especially without that monster on my back. 🙂

I want to encourage you if you are in the Nashville area to check out Laura’s blog-Creative Spillage for more info on when the next workshop will be and sign up! Start saving your pennies now. It is totally worth it!

Note: All above opinions are my own and I was in no way paid to endorse the workshop. I just reallllly believe this is a great opportunity for any lady in the Nashville area.

About HnB4life

Hello There ! My name is Tiffany and I am on the journey to find balance in life! Now, I’m not talking about anything kooky or mystical, but real true balance and health in all areas: physical, spiritual, and emotional. I figured I was not the only one looking for these things, and thus this blog was born. I am not an expert in all things healthy nor is my life 100% balanced. However, I have been on this journey for a quite a few years and have learned some things along the way. One of those things is that the start of a healthy and balanced life is a relationship with Jesus Christ, my Savior, my Friend, my Strong Tower, and my Balance in those completely unbalanced moments. If you’d like more information on knowing Jesus Christ, please click here http://www.gotquestions.org/personal-Savior.html Welcome Friend, I look forward to our journey together.

Leave a comment