RSS Feed

Living Healthy without Going Crazy

Posted on


UPDATE: You can now find me at www.healthynbalanced.com.

 

Making lifestyle changes in order to have a healthy lifestyle is hard. Many times it is completely overwhelming.

When we hit that overwhelming point, we normally give up because it’s just too hard or too time consuming or too expensive or too _________ (fill in the blank).

How do we reach that point where being healthy and balanced throws us off balance and into the looney bin?

The primary reason is that we try to change EVERYTHING at once. We bite off more than we can chew and before we realize it we are choking on all those changes. Instead of living a healthy life, our peace is gone and our stress is up as we try to change all of our bad habits at the same time.

So how can we avoid this?

1. BABY STEPS

There are plenty of bad habits that need to change in order for us to live healthy lives. However,what we need to do is focus on one or two at a time. Once those bad habits are changed, move on to the next ones.

I want to encourage you to make a list of bad habits that you want to change in order to live healthy. Maybe you need to kill your love for junk food or eat more fruits and veggies or exercise 3 times a week. Maybe you need to start flossing everyday or getting more sleep.

Take a few minutes and write them all down. Then chose two habits that you want to start on now. Focus on those two things until your bad habits becomes good habits then move on to the next two on your list.

2. AVOID INFORMATION OVERLOAD

There is A LOT of information out there, whether on the internet or in books or from friends, about how to live a healthy life.

We hear things like low-fat is the best, then the next thing we know full fat is the way to go. (By the way full fat is the way to go. ;))

Some say count your calories, others say count your carbs.

Some say buy all organic, others say organic is a waste of money….and the list goes on and on and on and on.

Before we know it, we get information overload and really aren’t sure at all as to how to eat/live a healthy life, so we go back to what we know.

3. DO WHAT YOU CAN DO & DON’T WORRY ABOUT THE REST.

I am not in a position where I can go and buy half a cow from a local farmer.

Do I want to do that? Heck yeah!

Is that the “healthiest” meat that I can get for my family? You bet!

Can I do that right now? No. I am limited on funds, as well as space to store it in.

Am I going to stress over it? Absolutely not.

That is a goal I have for the future but it’s simply not doable for me right now. Although I can’t always afford grass-fed, organic meat from my local grocery store, what I can do is buy all-natural/hormone free meat. Is it the healthiest of all the options? No, but it is better than the hormone filled options.

Maybe you can’t buy all organic fruits and vegetables but what you can do is stick with the “Clean 15” and buy organic only on the fruits and vegetables that are on the “Dirty Dozen” list. Maybe there is one particular “Dirty Dozen” fruit or vegetable that you eat often that you can buy organic.

The point is, you do what you can do to provide the healthiest food and lifestyle for you and your family. Then you just don’t worry about the rest.

God is good, He is faithful, and He is in control. If He can create this great world from nothing, then why would we think that His power is limited when it comes to keeping us healthy and safe.

A healthy lifestyle should NEVER be a burden. When it becomes a burden then it is time to refocus on baby steps, avoid information overload, and do what we can do and leave the rest to Him.

Linked up to:

Little Natural Cottage

About HnB4life

Hello There ! My name is Tiffany and I am on the journey to find balance in life! Now, I’m not talking about anything kooky or mystical, but real true balance and health in all areas: physical, spiritual, and emotional. I figured I was not the only one looking for these things, and thus this blog was born. I am not an expert in all things healthy nor is my life 100% balanced. However, I have been on this journey for a quite a few years and have learned some things along the way. One of those things is that the start of a healthy and balanced life is a relationship with Jesus Christ, my Savior, my Friend, my Strong Tower, and my Balance in those completely unbalanced moments. If you’d like more information on knowing Jesus Christ, please click here http://www.gotquestions.org/personal-Savior.html Welcome Friend, I look forward to our journey together.

8 responses »

  1. WOW, really liked reading your stuff. I was sad that you only had 3 points. Wanted more. Found you on blogelina. Hope you will check my blog out too.

    Reply
    • Thanks so much! Yeah, I didn’t want to cause “information overload” so I kept it simple :). I would love to check out your blog, what is it? It didn’t show up with your comment for some reason.

      Reply
  2. This is my philosophy exactly! Love this post!

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Healthy 2Day Wednesday No. 37 | Quick and Easy Cheap and Healthy

  4. Pingback: Healthy 2day Wednesday | Christian Mommy Blogger

  5. Hi Tiffany! As I read this post, tears streamed down my face. Thank you for this one…it came at the perfect time for me! God is good! I recently had a discussion with my husband regarding my grocery shopping spending- the organic aspect of it to be exact. We are a health conscious family but since having my 3rd baby- all within 25 months of one another, I haven’t gone back to work as I will be homeschooling our children. Our current household budget does not allow for me to be purchasing organic anymore. I’m aware of the Clean 15 and the Dirty Dozen lists and have them posted on my fridge. I am having a hard time with this new shopping experience and what I put on the table for my young family. Thank you for being so honest about taking baby steps with it all. Bless you for posting this and helping me with this challenge. I would appreciate your prayers.

    Reply
    • It is truly my pleasure. I know as mommies and wives we want to provide the very best for our families, not just food, but in all aspects. This sometimes causes us to stress out and feel like we are failing in some way when we are unable to whether it’s because of money, time, our own health, or some other factor. But that’s where that last step is so important. Do what you can do and TRUST GOD with the rest. He is in the one in control whether you are eating 100% organic or not. I pray for His peace to be on you and His joy to fill you and your home. I commend you for making the necessary financial sacrifices to homeschool your children. ( I long to do the same when the time comes.) I have no doubt that you have made the right choice. I will pray for you. Please let me know if you need any other prayer, advice, etc. My email is healthynbalanced@gmail.com. Blessings! Tiffany

      Reply

Leave a Reply

