RSS Feed

BEST SNACK EVER: Healthified Popcorn & Smoothie

Posted on

UPDATE: You can now find even more healthified recipes & tips at www.healthynbalanced.com.

 

Smoothie and popcorn anyone??

I LOOOOVE to eat popcorn with a smoothie. Maybe it’s the whole salty/sweet thing, I don’t know. Either way, this is by far one of my favorite night time snacks. It’s filling but not too heavy.

Maybe you are thinking, Tiffany- how in the world can you “healthify” popcorn? Popcorn is on the list of almost every “healthy snack” list out there.

The ways that I “healthified” it are:

1. I made it in on the stovetop, not in the microwave. The jury is still out on the safety of microwave popcorn, especially in the “steam” that it releases when you open the bag.

However the fact remains that many microwave popcorn bags are lined with a coating that breaks down into perfluorooctanoic acid, a synthetic chemical. Also, the butter flavoring in microwave popcorn contains a chemical known as diacetyl. If you want the butter flavor, just use the real thing.(Read more here.)

If we are unsure about the safety of microwave popcorn, why not just spend a few minutes extra (and a few dollars extra) and make it on the stovetop?

2. I used coconut oil instead of vegetable oil to cook the popcorn.

Here’s how ya do it:

Ingredients:

3 tbsp coconut oil

1/2 cup of popcorn kernels

Salt (to taste)

Melted butter (to taste)

Directions:

1.Melt coconut oil (if not already liquified) in heavy pot or stove top popper on medium heat. Add 1-2 kernels.

2. Wait for the 1-2 kernels to pop. (Once they pop you know the oil is hot enough to pop the rest of the kernels.) Add popcorn kernels to the pan.

3. Place the lid on the pot but leave it slightly ajar to allow the steam (but not your precious popcorn :)) to escape. Shake the pot lightly until the kernels are all popped. (When the “pops” are about 3 seconds apart you know that the popcorn is done.)

4. Remove from heat and dump into a large bowl. Sprinkle with salt to taste and add butter to taste.

Note: I usually just put salt unless I am in a butter mood. When I am in a butter mood I melt about 1/4 cup of butter and drizzle over the popped popcorn.

Click here or here for smoothie recipes.

About HnB4life

Hello There ! My name is Tiffany and I am on the journey to find balance in life! Now, I’m not talking about anything kooky or mystical, but real true balance and health in all areas: physical, spiritual, and emotional. I figured I was not the only one looking for these things, and thus this blog was born. I am not an expert in all things healthy nor is my life 100% balanced. However, I have been on this journey for a quite a few years and have learned some things along the way. One of those things is that the start of a healthy and balanced life is a relationship with Jesus Christ, my Savior, my Friend, my Strong Tower, and my Balance in those completely unbalanced moments. If you’d like more information on knowing Jesus Christ, please click here http://www.gotquestions.org/personal-Savior.html Welcome Friend, I look forward to our journey together.

4 responses »

  1. Pingback: Banana/Orange/Strawberry Smoothie AKA The BOSS « Healthy-n-Balanced

  2. Mmmmm, popcorn and smoothies are two of our favorite snacks, too! I’ve just never thought of having them together. 😉

    Thanks for sharing this… and for linking up at Natural Living!

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Weekly Menu Plan 1/23-1/29 « Healthy-n-Balanced

Leave a Reply

