RSS Feed

Finding Balance: Stop Complaining!

Posted on

I will be the first to tell you that this week’s challenge will most certainly be a challenge for me. I am a talker. I love to converse with people. This isn’t just because I am a woman. (Yes ladies, it is a proven fact that a woman uses way more words than a man on any given day.) It is something that I inherited from my dad. HE is a talker!

A lot of times when things aren’t going great or when I’ve had a bad day, all I want to do is “share” with my hubby or a friend about all that occured during that day. The problem is that if we take an honest look at “sharing”, it’s really just a code word for “complaining”. I am not saying that we can’t talk about our bad days or experiences but there is a very fine line between truly “sharing” about our day and complaining.

For some of us (including this pregnant lady), complaints naturally flow from our lips before we even realize it.

Phrases such as, “I’m tired.” and “My head hurts.” are fine if we are just letting someone know. We are stating a fact. However, there have been more days than I can count that these phrases have left my lips at least 10 times within an hour. That, my friend, is complaining.

My challenge for you this week:

Stop Complaining!

Be aware of the words that you speaking and speak intentionally. Don’t just say whatever comes to your mind. Have a friend hold you accountable.

One time I challenged myself to stop complaining at work. I had a co-worker smack my hand every time I complained. By the second day, I was almost completely complaint free. It felt great!! It’s amazing what good accountability can do for you.

Do whatever you need to do to stop this horrible habit. Nobody likes a complainer. It’s annoying and it brings down those around you.

So this week, speak BLESSINGS and not curses. Give THANKS and not complaints. ๐Ÿ™‚ You can do it!!

James 3:10-12

10 And so blessing and cursing come pouring out of the same mouth. Surely, my brothers and sisters, this is not right! 11 Does a spring of water bubble out with both fresh water and bitter water? 12 Does a fig tree produce olives, or a grapevine produce figs? No, and you canโ€™t draw fresh water from a salty spring.[a]

Linked up to:

WFMW

Living Well Wednesday

Raising Might Arrows

Making Your Home Sing! Monday

 

About HnB4life

Hello There ! My name is Tiffany and I am on the journey to find balance in life! Now, Iโ€™m not talking about anything kooky or mystical, but real true balance and health in all areas: physical, spiritual, and emotional. I figured I was not the only one looking for these things, and thus this blog was born. I am not an expert in all things healthy nor is my life 100% balanced. However, I have been on this journey for a quite a few years and have learned some things along the way. One of those things is that the start of a healthy and balanced life is a relationship with Jesus Christ, my Savior, my Friend, my Strong Tower, and my Balance in those completely unbalanced moments. If youโ€™d like more information on knowing Jesus Christ, please click here http://www.gotquestions.org/personal-Savior.html Welcome Friend, I look forward to our journey together.

6 responses »

  1. Thanks for the reminder and challenge! Blessings!

    Reply
  2. Ouch. What a startling reminder that so often the things “spewing” out of my mouth are complaints. I have been guilty of lots of complaints lately…especially the more stressed out I get. Thank you for writing this post, even though I want to hear things that tickle my ears, I needed to read this. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
    • Believe me it’s a lesson that I have been learning my whole life and it’s not easy I know. Thank you for taking time to read this and many blessings to you!

      Reply
  3. I absolutely love the visual of having someone slap your hand, lol! Yes, that would hopefully cure me quick too, haha. I’ve been in the process of having my back heal and I am pretty sure I said “my back hurts” like a million times a day.

    I like that you give a difference between sharing a fact and complaining.

    Years ago before my hubby became a pastor, he worked at a job he didn’t particularly like. He preferred to leave his job at work and not complain about it or bring it (mentally) home with him. That way it didn’t ruin his evening (or mine, lol!). He still leaves his job at the office, although it sometimes follows him home due to phone calls, needs, decisions, etc. But at least he loves his job now, lol!

    Thanks for linking up to Making Your Home Sing Monday!

    Reply
    • I think complaining is one of the hardest habits to break (at least for me) that’s why I had to have something like the slap on the hand to help break that habit.
      I agree-when you bring your work home with you, it tends to ruin everyone’s evening ๐Ÿ˜‰ (I can also testify to this because I have been guilty of it more than once!)
      Thanks for the opportunity to link up!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

