RSS Feed

Exercise FOR FREEEEEEEEE (or cheap)

Posted on

I know a lot of us have made the resolution to get healthy. I also know a lot of us either don’t want to spend the money on a gym membership or may not have access to a gym. I wanted to share with you some ideas on how to get exercise for FREEE (or cheap)!

1. Walk around your neighborhood (or around your house).

This is a great option. However, if you live in a place with no sidewalks or if you are experiencing some cold temps like we are here in Tennessee, then this may not be the best option for you.

An alternate would be to make laps inside your house. I know this sounds silly but back when I first started losing weight I would go up and down our stairs and make a lap around the main level. I did this for about 15 minutes every other day. We lived in a small townhouse apartment so there wasn’t a lot of walking space but it was all I had at the moment. It did get a little boring some days, but I pushed through it by listening to my favorite music and by changing up the pace at which I did the stairs. On one lap I would jog, on the next I would slow it down, and then on the next I would speed walk. This seemed to help the time go by quickly.

2. Rent Workout DVDs from your local library.

It is free to rent DVDs from the library. At our local library you can keep a DVD for up to two weeks. This is the perfect amount of time for workout DVDs because by the end of the two weeks you will be ready for something different to break up the routine.

This is also a great way to see if the DVD is worth purchasing. I can’t tell you how many workout DVDs I have purchased that I wound up not using because it wasn’t what I was hoping it would be.

3. Buy Workout DVDs at a second-hand store.

You can find some pretty great deals at second-hand stores, especially on workout DVDs. January may not be the best time to buy them since so many people are currently trying to get healthy in the new year.  If you wait until around March or later, you will probably find a better selection and better prices since a lot of people will have given up on their goal by then….unfortunate for them but good for you! 😉

4. Take your walking shoes to work

This is one of the best ways to fit exercise into your day. Change into your walking shoes during break and/or lunch and make a few laps around the office or around the block. If you have stairs, go up and down the stairs for 10-20 minutes.

5. Take 5 or 10

Take (at least) 5 minutes out of your day to do interval training (Burst Training). Click here for a demonstration on what this is, and to see a sample workout schedule. ( Be sure to do the exercises correctly!! Watch demonstrations on-line of a specific exercise before trying it out. You need to be sure that your form is correct in order to avoid injury and in order to see results.)

6. If you already have exercise equipment in your home-USE IT!

It doesn’t matter if it is a set of dumbbells, a treadmill, a bike, or an exercise ball…use what you have.

If you want to purchase a piece of equipment, then I’d like to encourage you to set a goal first and then make that purchase your reward. For example, set a goal to workout 3 times a week for 20 minutes for 3 months.

At the end of the three months, if you have faithfully stuck to your goal, then reward yourself with the purchase of a piece of equipment that you will use. It doesn’t have to be a big expensive treadmill. It could be an exercise ball or something small. If you do want a larger piece of equipment, check out craiglslist or a second-hand store to find the best price. 🙂

Note: I am not a personal trainer or expert in exercise. This is not professional advice. This is just a list of things that have worked for me on my journey to living a healthy and balanced life.

About HnB4life

Hello There ! My name is Tiffany and I am on the journey to find balance in life! Now, I’m not talking about anything kooky or mystical, but real true balance and health in all areas: physical, spiritual, and emotional. I figured I was not the only one looking for these things, and thus this blog was born. I am not an expert in all things healthy nor is my life 100% balanced. However, I have been on this journey for a quite a few years and have learned some things along the way. One of those things is that the start of a healthy and balanced life is a relationship with Jesus Christ, my Savior, my Friend, my Strong Tower, and my Balance in those completely unbalanced moments. If you’d like more information on knowing Jesus Christ, please click here http://www.gotquestions.org/personal-Savior.html Welcome Friend, I look forward to our journey together.

Leave a Reply

