RSS Feed

YUMMY Chilaquile Casserole

UPDATE: You can now find even more healthified recipes & tips at www.healthynbalanced.com.

 

One way to save some money on your grocery bill, is by going meatless one night a week. One of my very favorite vegetarian dishes is this recipe from Eating Well magazine.

I started making this dish a few years ago and it is so good that my carnivore hubby doesn’t even notice that it is meatless. The picture above really does not do it justice. It is incredible flavorful and filling.

I’ve only slightly tweaked it by using coconut oil instead of canola oil and freshly cooked beans instead of canned.

Ingredients

1 tbsp coconut oil (plus enough to coat baking dish)

1 medium onion, diced

1 medium zucchini or squash, grated

2 cups cooked black beans ( or 1 19-ounce can black beans-drained)

1 14-ounce can diced tomatos (or if you want some extra spice-diced tomatoes w/ green chilis), drained

1 1/2 cups corn (frozen, thawed, or fresh)

1 tsp ground cumin

1/2 tsp salt

12 corn tortillas, quartered

1 19-ounce can mild red or green enchilada sauce (be sure to check the ingredients list for junky-junk)

1 1/4 cups shredded reduced-fat Cheddar cheese

Preheat oven to 400°F. Lightly coat a 9-by-13-inch baking pan with coconut oil.

Heat oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add onion and cook, stirring often, until starting to brown, about 5 minutes.

Stir in zucchini, beans, tomatoes, corn, cumin and salt and cook, stirring occasionally, until the vegetables are heated through, about 3 minutes.

Place half the tortilla pieces in the pan. Top with half the vegetable mixture, half the enchilada sauce and half the cheese. Repeat with one more layer of tortillas, vegetables, sauce and cheese. Cover with foil.

Bake the casserole for 15 minutes. Remove the foil and continue baking until the casserole is bubbling around the edges and the cheese is melted, about 10 minutes more.

Enjoy with tortilla chips & brown rice!

About HnB4life

Hello There ! My name is Tiffany and I am on the journey to find balance in life! Now, I’m not talking about anything kooky or mystical, but real true balance and health in all areas: physical, spiritual, and emotional. I figured I was not the only one looking for these things, and thus this blog was born. I am not an expert in all things healthy nor is my life 100% balanced. However, I have been on this journey for a quite a few years and have learned some things along the way. One of those things is that the start of a healthy and balanced life is a relationship with Jesus Christ, my Savior, my Friend, my Strong Tower, and my Balance in those completely unbalanced moments. If you’d like more information on knowing Jesus Christ, please click here http://www.gotquestions.org/personal-Savior.html Welcome Friend, I look forward to our journey together.

Leave a Reply

