RSS Feed

2012 Goal: Stop being a Lazy Follower!

Many people, including myself, will have a 2012 resolution to grow in their relationship with God. This is a great goal to have but just like our goals of losing weight or being healthier physically, we often lose momentum and fall back into our old, lazy ways.

2012 can be different! We can create habits and continually grow in our relationships with God. We can stop being lazy followers of Christ and *man up* and be the followers that He has called us to be. I wanted to share with you some of the specific goals that I have this year and some tools that you can use if these are your goals as well.

1. Read Through The Bible 

I took the Read the Bible in 90 days challenge this year and was able to complete it. However I was not able to complete it in 90 days. It took me almost the entire year but I never gave up. The Bible is so interesting and the best thing about it is that you can read the same passage ten different times and get something new out of it each time. I have listed below two links to help you if this is one of your goals for 2012.

Read the Bible in 90 days

Read the Bible in a year (Click on also available in PDF format to get the printable version)

2. Have a time of prayer each morning-No excuses!

There is nothing like starting your day off by talking with God and giving Him your day. There is also nothing more challenging for someone like me who loves to sleep. 🙂 I also know that once baby girl gets here it will be A LOT more challenging but it will also be even more essential. HE is my strength and if I don’t go to Him each day, I will definitely grow weary.

I wrote a post earlier this year on how I do my prayer time. Click here to read it.

3. Memorize one verse per month

The Word of God is our weapon. We need to train ourselves to use it so we will be prepared at any time to kick the devil’s booty! Memorizing the Word is one of the best ways for us to be prepared to give a defense.

I would love to be memorizing a scripture per week but I am going to start small and then build on that.

Starting on January 1, 2012  I will be posting the scripture that God has laid on my heart to memorize for the month of January. I will do this every month on the first of the month. Once the post goes up, I would like for you to also post the verse you will be memorizing or if you will be memorizing the same one as me. 🙂 This is a great way for us to hold each other accountable.

Click here for tips on how to memorize scripture.

Click here if you are up for the challenge of 2 verses per week.

4. Memorize the Books of the Bible

I believe this is a basic every follower of Christ should know.

I grew up in church and used to be able to recite the Books of the Bible with ease. I can still easily find my way around the Bible, however I get the order of some of the books mixed up when I try to recite them. In 2012, I want to relearn the order of the Books of the Bible.

Click here for an easy way to memorize the books of the Bible. (It’s a little cheesy-but I really like how he does the New Testament.)

Or if you prefer to use music to learn them, then click here.

What about you? Do you have any spiritual goals for 2012?

About HnB4life

Hello There ! My name is Tiffany and I am on the journey to find balance in life! Now, I’m not talking about anything kooky or mystical, but real true balance and health in all areas: physical, spiritual, and emotional. I figured I was not the only one looking for these things, and thus this blog was born. I am not an expert in all things healthy nor is my life 100% balanced. However, I have been on this journey for a quite a few years and have learned some things along the way. One of those things is that the start of a healthy and balanced life is a relationship with Jesus Christ, my Savior, my Friend, my Strong Tower, and my Balance in those completely unbalanced moments. If you’d like more information on knowing Jesus Christ, please click here http://www.gotquestions.org/personal-Savior.html Welcome Friend, I look forward to our journey together.

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: January’s MEMORIZE THIS! Challenge « Healthy-n-Balanced

  2. Pingback: January’s MEMORIZE THIS! Challenge | Healthy-N-Balanced

Leave a Reply

