RSS Feed

Crockpot Whole Chicken

Posted on

This my little chickie before she started sizzling!

With organic meat being so expensive, one of the best ways that I’ve found to stretch that meat out is by buying and cooking a whole chicken then tearing it apart to use for 3-4 meals. If you don’t want to eat 3-4 meals during week with chicken then you can just shred up what you don’t want to eat right away, throw it in some ziploc bags, and then into the freezer to use at a later date.

There are lots of recipes for whole chicken out there but I like to keep my basic since I use it in a variety of dishes.

I prefer to cook my bird when it is thawed, but if you don’t have time to thaw it out, you can still throw it in the crockpot frozen. I’ve done it both ways and it always comes out delicioso! (However if you cook it from it’s frozen state, just be prepared to cook it a little longer :))

Crockpot Whole Chicken

1 Whole Chicken (5 lb bird is usually what I go with)

Season with: Garlic Powder, Onion Powder, and Seasoning Salt (I told you I keep it simple)  I use approximately 2 tablespoons of each on each side of the chickie.

 

Directions:

Take your chickie out of the wrapper (of course :)) and rinse off with cool water.

DON’T FORGET TO REMOVE THE GIZZARDS!!

Place the chickie in the crockpot and season generously with seasonings listed above on BOTH sides. (See the picture above-can you tell that I was heavy handed with the seasoning? )

Cook the chickie (breast side down) for 4-5 hours on high or 8 hours on low. ENJOY!

 

 

About HnB4life

Hello There ! My name is Tiffany and I am on the journey to find balance in life! Now, I’m not talking about anything kooky or mystical, but real true balance and health in all areas: physical, spiritual, and emotional. I figured I was not the only one looking for these things, and thus this blog was born. I am not an expert in all things healthy nor is my life 100% balanced. However, I have been on this journey for a quite a few years and have learned some things along the way. One of those things is that the start of a healthy and balanced life is a relationship with Jesus Christ, my Savior, my Friend, my Strong Tower, and my Balance in those completely unbalanced moments. If you’d like more information on knowing Jesus Christ, please click here http://www.gotquestions.org/personal-Savior.html Welcome Friend, I look forward to our journey together.

5 responses »

  1. Pingback: Weekly Menu Plan 12/5-12/11 « Healthy-n-Balanced

  2. Pingback: Weekly Menu Plan 1/21/8 « Healthy-n-Balanced

  3. Pingback: Weekly Menu Plan 1/2-1/8 « Healthy-n-Balanced

  4. Pingback: DEAL ALERT: Perdue All-Natural Whole Chicken $0.79/LB « Healthy-n-Balanced

  5. Pingback: Weekly Menu 1/16-1/22 « Healthy-n-Balanced

Leave a Reply

