RSS Feed

Living a Life of Purpose

Posted on

Do you ever feel like life is just the same day played out over and over again…except you’re wearing different clothes (and underwear hopefully :))?

Do you ever feel like your day is so jam packed with “stuff to do” from your never-ending to do list that by the time you actually “have time” all you wanna do is veg out in front of the TV…ultimately wasting the only time you had to really do something worthwhile?

I most certainly have my days, weeks, and sometimes months that are like that…where I get stuck in a rut of the same old, same old and before I know it an entire month or 3 months or year has passed and I have not accomplished anything that is really of any true value.

I think a lot of us get so wrapped up in “stuff”, big and small, that we forget to enjoy the blessings and opportunities that each day holds.

This morning my boss shared the following poem called “The Dash” with us and it just reaffirmed within me the desire to live a life of purpose. A life where I consciously decide each day to concentrate on those things which are worthwhile-my relationship with my Savior, time with my family, reaching out to someone in need, enjoying a new day- and to let everything else (yes, even those “important” things on my to do list) fall to this side.

Because in the end, it’s not about how big my house is, or if I have the car I’ve always dreamed of, or if I hold a degree in my hand. It’s about how I choose to live the days I’ve been gifted by my Creator-did I love those who needed love? did I help those in need? did I waste time accomplishing MY big dream at the expense of my family or I did I spend time cultivating my family at the expense of MY big dream?

THE DASH

I read of a man who stood to speak
At the funeral of a friend.
He referred to the dates on her tombstone
From the beginning to the end.

He noted that first came the date of her birth
And spoke of the following date with tears,
But he said what mattered most of all
Was the dash between those years.

For that dash represents all the time
That she spent alive on earth
And now only those who loved her
Know what that little line is worth.

For it matters not, how much we own,
The cars, the house, the cash,
What matters is how we live and love
And how we spend our dash.

So think about this long and hard;
Are there things you’d like to change?
For you never know how much time is left
That can still be rearranged.

If we could just slow down enough
To consider what’s true and real
And always try to understand
The way other people feel.

And be less quick to anger
And show appreciation more
And love the people in our lives
Like we’ve never loved before.

If we treat each other with respect
And more often wear a smile,
Remembering that this special dash
Might only last a little while.

So when your eulogy is being read
With your life’s actions to rehash
Would you be proud of the things they say
About how you spent your dash?

© 1996 Linda Ellis

About HnB4life

Hello There ! My name is Tiffany and I am on the journey to find balance in life! Now, I’m not talking about anything kooky or mystical, but real true balance and health in all areas: physical, spiritual, and emotional. I figured I was not the only one looking for these things, and thus this blog was born. I am not an expert in all things healthy nor is my life 100% balanced. However, I have been on this journey for a quite a few years and have learned some things along the way. One of those things is that the start of a healthy and balanced life is a relationship with Jesus Christ, my Savior, my Friend, my Strong Tower, and my Balance in those completely unbalanced moments. If you’d like more information on knowing Jesus Christ, please click here http://www.gotquestions.org/personal-Savior.html Welcome Friend, I look forward to our journey together.

Leave a Reply

