RSS Feed

The Great Cooking Oil Debate

Posted on

One of the hardest thing about having a healthy lifestyle is figuring out what is actually healthy ? One day you hear that butter is better. The next day it’s margarine. One day you hear that sugar is bad. The next day it’s Sweet-n-Low and Equal. There is so much contradicting information out there that it makes it very hard to figure out what it is that I need to be putting into my body if I am trying to live a healthy life.

Personally, I try my best to stay away from processed and packaged foods and stick to meats, fruits & veggies, and pretty much anything in its raw form. Please note that I said I try my best. I am not perfect on this and I certainly have my moments of falling into the temptation of  Cheese Nachos from the local Mexican Restaurant or Gravy and Biscuits from Hardee’s. I do however try my best to eat as healthy as possible as often as possible.

One of the great debates is on cooking oil. There are different opinions out there about which oils are good to cook with and which ones to stay away from. I decided to make it easy on you and briefly share a little snippet of what I have learned about each one.

Olive Oil: Due to low smoke point of olive oil this is not a good option to use when cooking. (The smoke point is the point in which the oil begins to break down and lose all of its nutritional values.) Read more on this here.

Coconut Oil: This is a great option to be used for everything! You can use it for cooking in the oven or on stove top. You can also eat this raw in smoothies! I will be doing a separate post at a later date on the benefits of this great oil.

Canola Oil: This oil is super processed. For me, that is enough reason not to use it. However, there are plenty of health concerns such as heart problems linked to canola oil as well.  If you want more details. Dr. Axe lays it all out right here.

In my house, I cook with butter and coconut oil (and occasionally grapeseed oil). I never use olive oil to cook; only to drizzle over salads, cooked meats, etc.

If you have a recipe that calls for canola oil or margarine; it can always be easily replaced with coconut oil, butter, or even applesauce (if you are baking).

About HnB4life

Hello There ! My name is Tiffany and I am on the journey to find balance in life! Now, I’m not talking about anything kooky or mystical, but real true balance and health in all areas: physical, spiritual, and emotional. I figured I was not the only one looking for these things, and thus this blog was born. I am not an expert in all things healthy nor is my life 100% balanced. However, I have been on this journey for a quite a few years and have learned some things along the way. One of those things is that the start of a healthy and balanced life is a relationship with Jesus Christ, my Savior, my Friend, my Strong Tower, and my Balance in those completely unbalanced moments. If you’d like more information on knowing Jesus Christ, please click here http://www.gotquestions.org/personal-Savior.html Welcome Friend, I look forward to our journey together.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Friday Challenge: Cut out the Vegetable Oil « Healthy-n-Balanced

Leave a Reply

