Finding Balance

Posted on

In April I was set to have gallbladder surgery to have my gallbladder removed due to some serious nausea and tummy issues I’ve had since I was a teenager. However, my very discerning husband felt we should postpone it to try a more holistic option. We were a little unsure because it so hard to find a good natural/holistic doctor that isn’t wrapped up in beliefs that I don’t agree with. However, six weeks ago God opened up the doors for me to go to Dr. Jana Joshu-Grimm, a Christian holistic doctor.  I have been feeling better and better every day since then. She was able to determine the real root of my gallbladder and tummy issues-it was my adrenal gland. Now my body is getting healthier, my adrenal glands are actually functioning at 80% (instead of not at all), and I am trying all kinds of yummy new foods that I otherwise never would have tried. Can I just say I am loving a hamburger patty with salsa, avocado and goat cheese?! So I just want to take a minute to say GOD IS GOOD!!! Now I had prayed  A LOT over the years for God to heal me…but He didn’t…at least not how I was praying for Him to do. I was wanting an instant healing, but instead He sent me someone to instruct me on how to care for this temple of the Holy Spirit and how to be truly disciplined with this lifestyle change.  I still have a few months to go to get my body back to where it needs to be; and a lifetime of healthy eating and exercise. Sometimes it’s hard (even with my wonderful hubby who is super supportive and eats everything I put in front of him) and sometimes it’s easy-but in the end, it is worth it. I want to be on this earth for as many years as possible so that I can be used to reach as many people as possible and fulfill the purpose that I am here to complete.

I think a lot of times we are own worst enemy-we make horrible food choices, we are gluttons (Oh yes-I went there! The word that so many of us Christians avoid because we don’t want to face the fact that we may be taking part in this sin-I know I sure was!), we don’t exercise, we are lazy and then we ask God why we are sick.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m not saying all sickness is our own fault…but plenty of it is. God created our bodies perfectly. A lot of times we are the ones who cause it to not function properly. Apart from all of that, we don’t pray and don’t read our Bible and then ask God why we are being attacked or why He doesn’t seem to be around anymore. I am not saying that every time God feels far away it is because we are not reading and praying enough, though plenty of times it is.

What I am saying is that we have to take responsibility and be disciplined enough to take good care of what God has given us so that we can be used to our fullest potential. Does that mean living a perfectly disciplined life? I wish I could! Unfortunately I’m not even close but we must do our very best with what we have been given, and that is exactly what I am going to do. I want to challenge you today to do the same. Think about what you eating to fuel your body.  Take a little walk today instead of turning on the tv as soon as you get home. Take a minute to thank God for the day and read His word. Simplify your life. Get rid of the relationships, circumstances, food, etc  that are not healthy and that are stressing you out. Focus on one thing at a time. Don’t be overrun by your to do list. Live today as if it is your last. Serve God and love love love love those around you.  When we do that we will start to find a little more balance in our lives and a lot more joy and peace.

About HnB4life

Hello There ! My name is Tiffany and I am on the journey to find balance in life! Now, I’m not talking about anything kooky or mystical, but real true balance and health in all areas: physical, spiritual, and emotional. I figured I was not the only one looking for these things, and thus this blog was born. I am not an expert in all things healthy nor is my life 100% balanced. However, I have been on this journey for a quite a few years and have learned some things along the way. One of those things is that the start of a healthy and balanced life is a relationship with Jesus Christ, my Savior, my Friend, my Strong Tower, and my Balance in those completely unbalanced moments. If you’d like more information on knowing Jesus Christ, please click here http://www.gotquestions.org/personal-Savior.html Welcome Friend, I look forward to our journey together.

8 responses »

  1. Brenda Branch

    Well, this just smacked me in the face. You are so right. I love you and will support your blog.

    Reply
  2. This so TRUE Tiffany!!! Thanks for being transparent and allowing God to minister through you in the area which we all should govern ourselves accordingly; HEALTH :>)

    Also If I may would like to to add this…
    One of the greatest sins in this country is idolatry (which is in various forms); idolatry regarding FOOD. From gluttony to anorexia, food has become the god of millions. Many sicknesses plaguing people today stem from unhealthy eating habits and a lack of exercise. Having the right attitude about food, eating properly and getting the right amount of physical exercise are essential to being a healthy and whole person. To serve the Lord to the best of our ability, we need bodies that function in the way that God designed for them to function.

    This is prayer that I got from Pastor Crefflo Dollar website regarding Discipline, Self-Control in Diet and Exercise…

    In the name of Jesus, I declare that i cultivate temperance by subjecting my mind and body to God’s Word. I cast down every negative thought about my appearance that attempts to exalt itself against the knowledge of God and His will for my life. I exalt self-control, diligence, wisdom and patience regarding my exercise regimen and what I eat. I walk in the Spirit and not in the flesh. I put to death the unhealthy desires of my body. Jesus is Lord over my eating habits. I am more than a conqueror, and I can do all things through Christ Who empowers me. I release most holy faith to bring these things to pass in my life and charge my angels to carry out each assignment. My words have creative ability, and in the name of Jesus, I have what I say. Amen!

    Scripture References: 1 Corinthians 9:27 , 2 Corinthians 10:4-5, Galatians 6:7, Romans 8:1 &13 & 37, Philippians 4:13, Proverbs 18:21

    I hope this also will encourage others including myself :>)!!!!!!!!

    Reply
  3. Your website is wonderfully done Tiffany. I love how you wrote that you did not want to do things you did not believe in. As you know, many people who are into holistic medicine are using Eastern religious methods of healing and these methods are far from God’s Word. I am so proud of you that you took the time to search this out and keep it simple and basic. You are using basic Biblical teaching and are taking care of your temple the way God intended. You are a wonderful woman of God – and in everything you do you put God first! Keep pressing on in the Lord! Love ya, Denise

    Reply
    • Thanks Denise!! That is part of the point of this blog is to help people see that balance and health can be achieved-but only by the guidance of the Holy Spirit. Thanks for dropping in and checking it out!! Love you too!

      Reply
  4. Tiff,
    I have thoroughly enjoyed your blog and have been inspired to “keep on keeping on” being health conscience. In recent months, God has enlightened me in regards to His intentions for my health and well- being. I made a concerted effort to change for His glory and this is confirmation. Thanks for your candid words and encouragement. Blessings to you!!

    Reply

Leave a comment