RSS Feed

Flash Freezing 101

Posted on

UPDATE: You can now find me at www.healthynbalanced.com.

 

I never realized how easy it is to flash freeze vegetables. I have frozen vegetables before but the only problem was that I was expecting to pull the bag out and watch as each individual vegetable fell out of the bag and into the pan. Unfortunately when I pulled out the bag to use it, it was just a big ball of iced vegetables clumped all together. ICK!

Flash freezing is what you can do to prevent that from happening and enjoy your frozen veggies in the same way you enjoy the store bought frozen veggies.

It’s SUPER easy to do and will save you from having to throw out veggies and fruit that you bought but never used.

All you need is:

Wax paper

Cookie sheets

Freezer bags

Fruits/Veggies

Knife

Cutting board

First, lay out your cookie sheet and place a piece of wax paper on it. This will prevent your veggies from sticking to the cookie sheet and allow you to easily remove them once they are frozen.

Then, cut up your vegetables and fruit. Slice and dice to your hearts desire.

Next, lay out your veggies on the wax paper covered cookie sheet in a single layer.

Place your veggie filled cookie sheet in the freezer and set a timer for about 30 minutes. (Depending on how you slice & dice and what vegetables/fruits you are using you may need to leave them in there a little longer.)

After that, go about your day until you hear the timer ding. If the veggies are fully frozen, remove them. If not, leave them in there until they are frozen.

Lastly, remove the frozen veggies/fruits from the cookie sheet and dump into a freezer bag. Be sure to mark your bag with the date.

Viola! You now have your very own bagged, frozen vegetables and fruits. :) Now you can feel free to buy the discounted fruit and vegetables from the grocery store (provided you flash freeze them before they go bad.).

If you’d like to see a video tutorial, check out Faithful Provisions.

Linked up to:

Time Warp Wife

5 minutes for Mom

Far Above Rubies

Whole New Mom

Raising 4 Princesses

Christian Mommy Blogger

We are that Family

Kelly the Kitchen Kop

Little Natural Cottage

Life As Mom

About HnB4life

Hello There ! My name is Tiffany and I am on the journey to find balance in life! Now, I’m not talking about anything kooky or mystical, but real true balance and health in all areas: physical, spiritual, and emotional. I figured I was not the only one looking for these things, and thus this blog was born. I am not an expert in all things healthy nor is my life 100% balanced. However, I have been on this journey for a quite a few years and have learned some things along the way. One of those things is that the start of a healthy and balanced life is a relationship with Jesus Christ, my Savior, my Friend, my Strong Tower, and my Balance in those completely unbalanced moments. If you’d like more information on knowing Jesus Christ, please click here http://www.gotquestions.org/personal-Savior.html Welcome Friend, I look forward to our journey together.

10 responses »

  1. Really helpful advice thanks for posting!

    Reply
  2. thanks so much for this! I don’t know why it didn’t occur to me before. I’m wondering about doing it to chicken breast? I started a link party at my blog and I’d love for you to link this up. If you’re interested it’s http://caribbeanmissionarywife.blogspot.com/ Have a lovely day, Maria

    Reply
  3. I do this with veggies, grated cheese, leftover homemade waffles, burgers (purchase large pack of meat and make patties) and more. It’s so easy. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  4. My mom is all about freezing. EVERYTHING. I’m just now getting on the bandwagon so I’ll have to try this. Thanks!

    Reply
  5. Great tutorial! I actually have a tray that’s dedicated to flash freezing and it is constantly in use. Thanks for linking up to Healthy 2Day Wednesday!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

