RSS Feed

Yummy Overnight Pancakes (Use up your Sour Raw Milk)

Posted on

UPDATE: You can now find even more healthified recipes & tips at www.healthynbalanced.com.

 

I found this great recipe for Soaked Pancakes on Heavenly Homemakers and decided to try it out. I have never “soaked” anything because I never knew the benefits of it and I thought it was too much work.

First of all, it’s super easy to soak your grains/flour overnight. It takes about 2 minutes the night before and you are done.

When you soak the grains/flour overnight, it breaks down the phytates so that our bodies can digest the food more easily and absorb all the nutrients in the flour/grain. In order for the phytates to be broken down, you have to use an acidic product such as cultured buttermilk, milk kefir, coconut kefir, water kefir, cultured yogurt, whey, lemon juice or apple cider vinegar. According to Passionate Homemaking, dairy product acid mediums must be cultured!

I will note that the reason I was looking for a recipe like this is because I had some raw milk that had soured. I know that sounds gross, but soured raw milk is still usable and full of enzymes and good bacteria. Soured raw milk is a cultured dairy product. Note that I used RAW milk, not pasteurized milk like what you buy at the store. Store bought milk is dangerous once soured. Read here for more information on using soured raw milk. (If you don’t have any soured raw milk, you can use buttermilk.)

After making these pancakes this morning, I am hooked!! My hubby, who usually only eats one or two pancakes, ate four of them! These are so light and yummy. :)

Here is the recipe the way that I made it. Click here  for the recipe the way that Heavenly Homemakers makes it. There are only a couple of differences.

Ingredients:

1 cup Sour Raw Milk

1 cup white whole wheat flour

2-3 tbsp rolled oats (You may also want to try ground flax seed.)

1 egg

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp baking powder

3 tbsp melted butter

1/4-1/2 cup regular milk (not soured)

Butter to coat skillet

Optional toppings:

Banana Slices

Blueberries, Blackberries, or Strawberries

Maple Syrup

1. Mix flour, oats, and sour milk together in a glass bowl. Cover and allow to sit overnight on the countertop.

2. The next morning, heat buttered skillet on medium or medium-high heat. Add egg, salt, baking powder, and butter to your flour/milk mixture. Mix all ingredients together with whisk or fork. Add 1/4 cup of milk and mix well.

NOTE: This batter will be sticky/doughy at first. If you allow it to sit a few minutes while you are heating up the  butter in a skillet, then it will thin out. If the consistency is not thin enough for you, add a little more milk little by little until you reach desired consistency. I would not add more than 1/2 cup of milk or the batter will be too thin.

3. Spoon into skillet and cook until bubbles form and then flip over to cook other side.

This made about 12 medium-size pancakes.

Enjoy!

About HnB4life

Hello There ! My name is Tiffany and I am on the journey to find balance in life! Now, I’m not talking about anything kooky or mystical, but real true balance and health in all areas: physical, spiritual, and emotional. I figured I was not the only one looking for these things, and thus this blog was born. I am not an expert in all things healthy nor is my life 100% balanced. However, I have been on this journey for a quite a few years and have learned some things along the way. One of those things is that the start of a healthy and balanced life is a relationship with Jesus Christ, my Savior, my Friend, my Strong Tower, and my Balance in those completely unbalanced moments. If you’d like more information on knowing Jesus Christ, please click here http://www.gotquestions.org/personal-Savior.html Welcome Friend, I look forward to our journey together.

5 responses »

  1. Pingback: Weekly Menu Plan 1/9-1/15 « Healthy-n-Balanced

  2. Pingback: Weekly Menu Plan 1/23-1/29 « Healthy-n-Balanced

  3. Hello, Tiffany! Love the new site! We are looking for from scratch meal ideas/recipes! Especially kid friendly ones and pancakes are definitely that. But where can I get raw milk? And can it be just regular buttermilk from the grocery store?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

