RSS Feed

2012 GOAL: LOSE WEIGHT (& Fail Miserably)

I think one of the most popular New Year’s Resolutions is to lose weight. I also believe it is the one that many of us fail miserably at year after year.

How can we be sure that 2012 is different?

How can we be sure that we succeed at losing weight in 2012?

A few years ago, I was able to succeed at this resolution and keep the weight off…until the later part of last year when I gained about 10 of the 35 pounds I had lost and kept off. This was due primarily to some medical problems that I was facing (Click here to read my story.) BUT the good news is I lost it all and kept it off…until this little baby started growing in my tummy. haha :)

So I wanted to share with you today how to succeed at your resolution to lose weight.

1. Rename your goal

Instead of having the goal to “lose weight”, make your goal to “be healthy”. I know it sounds silly and simple but your focus does NOT need to be the number that is on the scale. Your focus needs to be leading a healthy lifestyle.You don’t need a scale. Your clothes will tell you!

2. Motivation check

What is your reason for wanting to lose weight/be healthy? Are you doing it just because it’s a new year and it’s what everyone does at this time of year? Are you doing it because you feel pressure from friends or family?

Or are you doing it because YOU are the one who wants to do it? YOU are the one who wants to feel comfortable in your clothes again. YOU are the one who wants to be around to see your children’s children.

YOU have to be the one who wants it; otherwise you won’t succeed. Will there still be days where you have NO motivation? ABSOLUTELY! But you will be able to push through it, because you are doing this for you.

3. Renew your mind

Don’t think of this as a diet. Get that word out of your mind and out of your vocabulary. This is a lifestyle change. A healthy eating lifestyle is something that is long-term. Diet is something that you do for a short amount of time to reach a specific goal and then go back to your old ways once you reach that goal or just get tired of the diet.

4. Don’t make perfection your goal.

I am not saying don’t aim high. I am saying don’t make it your goal to eat 100% healthy 100% of the time. A good rule of thumb that my doctor recommended was to have 2-3 cheat MEALS per week. Notice I didn’t say 2-3 cheat DAYS. ;)

Personally, this is what keeps me sane. If I am munching down on a salad while I am dreaming of chocolate chip cookies,  I can hold on to the “hope” that I don’t have to give up those cookies forever. I can go home and make them and that will be one of my 2-3 cheats for the week.

Please note, once you start eating healthy your body is going to love it! It is going to love it so much that when you do have those cheat meals-it will rebel! ;)

When it comes to exercise, don’t set a goal to go to the gym 6 days a week when you know that your life/schedule really won’t permit that. Make your exercise goal a realistic one!

5. PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE STAY AWAY FROM FAD DIETS, DIET PILLS, & anything that promises to make you lose 15 pounds in the first 24 hours!

The best option is to simply incorporate a healthy eating plan and an exercise schedule. Not sure how a healthy eating plan looks?

For me, I have a list of foods that I avoid (unless of course I am eating one of my cheat meals ;)). Cheat meal or not, I still try to stay away from processed food.  If you are interested in seeing my list, please send me an email at healthynbalanced@gmail.com and I will be more than happy to share the specifics with you.

6. Make a plan

Decide how you are going to go about eating healthy, when you are going to exercise, & what things you need to cut out of your life that take away your peace and motivation.

7. Be Accountable

Find a buddy to walk with on your lunch break. Find someone who will hold you accountable to your healthy eating plan. There is nothing like having to fess up that you ate a pint of chocolate ice cream and a bag of potato chips while sitting on your couch watching your favorite tv show instead of going to the gym….not that I have ever done anything like that. haha ;)

About HnB4life

Hello There ! My name is Tiffany and I am on the journey to find balance in life! Now, I’m not talking about anything kooky or mystical, but real true balance and health in all areas: physical, spiritual, and emotional. I figured I was not the only one looking for these things, and thus this blog was born. I am not an expert in all things healthy nor is my life 100% balanced. However, I have been on this journey for a quite a few years and have learned some things along the way. One of those things is that the start of a healthy and balanced life is a relationship with Jesus Christ, my Savior, my Friend, my Strong Tower, and my Balance in those completely unbalanced moments. If you’d like more information on knowing Jesus Christ, please click here http://www.gotquestions.org/personal-Savior.html Welcome Friend, I look forward to our journey together.

One response »

  1. Angie Mena-Salazar

    Thanks for your encouraging words! I know God spoke to my heart and I’m doing this for me! I will be following your blog and trying out new recipes. God bless and may you continue to inspire others like you have inspired me!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

