RSS Feed

Gallopinto Recipe (a la Gringa…aka me :))

Posted on

 

Here is the recipe you have all been waiting for….GALLOPINTO! For those of you who may not be familiar with it, this is a typical Costa Rican breakfast dish. It is absolutely one of my favorites and my WONDERFUL suegra (mother-in-law), who is from Costa Rica, taught me how to make it. Her and my mom are by far the greatest cooks I know and I was sooooo happy (as was my hubby) when she taught me how to make this yummy dish.

If you are looking for something different for breakfast this week-besides your typical eggs and toast then give this recipe a try. I do make it with white rice *GASP*. I tried it with brown rice one time and it’s good just not great!

If you do try this out, let me know what you think!!

Gallopinto

Serves 3-5 people

Ingredients
1/4-1/2 Onion
1/4-1/2 Bell Pepper
1/4 bunch of cilantro
3-4 tbsp Salsa Lizano (to taste)
1-2 Garlic Cloves
Aprox 3 cups cooked white rice
1 1/2 cups cooked black beans or 1 can drained and rinsed black beans
Directions

Chop up onion, bell pepper, and cilantro into small pieces. Saute vegetables in oil or butter on medium or med-high. Add rice and drained beans continue to saute. Add Salsa Lizano to taste.
NOTE: Salsa Lizano can be found at most International Markets. If you are in the Nashville area and want to know where to find out just shoot me an email or a message here :)

 

About HnB4life

Hello There ! My name is Tiffany and I am on the journey to find balance in life! Now, I’m not talking about anything kooky or mystical, but real true balance and health in all areas: physical, spiritual, and emotional. I figured I was not the only one looking for these things, and thus this blog was born. I am not an expert in all things healthy nor is my life 100% balanced. However, I have been on this journey for a quite a few years and have learned some things along the way. One of those things is that the start of a healthy and balanced life is a relationship with Jesus Christ, my Savior, my Friend, my Strong Tower, and my Balance in those completely unbalanced moments. If you’d like more information on knowing Jesus Christ, please click here http://www.gotquestions.org/personal-Savior.html Welcome Friend, I look forward to our journey together.

4 responses »

  1. Pingback: Weekly Menu Plan 12/5-12/11 « Healthy-n-Balanced

  2. Pingback: Weekly Menu Plan 1/21/8 « Healthy-n-Balanced

  3. Pingback: Weekly Menu Plan 1/2-1/8 « Healthy-n-Balanced

  4. Pingback: Weekly Menu 1/16-1/22 « Healthy-n-Balanced

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

